2013: A Year of Firsts

I’m not one to count my chickens before they hatch, but it looks like 2013 is shaping up to be a great trail running year for me! I’ll allow myself to get excited this time.

The year looks awesome for a few reasons. One, I’m traveling for a race! I’ve never done that before. And I don’t mean, like, to New Jersey or anything. In August, the whole family is going to Squamish, British Columbia for the Squamish 50 where I’ll run the 50 mile distance. This will be our first trip to Western Canada. The entire region looks like it has so much to offer. Plus, I’m coming to understand Vancouver has fabulous vegan food. Two, I’ll be attempting my first 100 miler! This will happen in the familiar territory of Oil Creek State Park where I ran both a 50K and a 100K. And three, I’ll be racing in two ultras in one year! Last year I ran two ultras but one was a training run. This time it’s for real: two ultra races.

Yeah, the year looks like it’ll be filled with lots of fun. Stay tuned for updates as my training gets underway next week.

4 thoughts on “2013: A Year of Firsts

Leave a Reply

