Notebook: Cold, Dark Trails (2/12/2014)

Earlier, I ran a short bit on the treadmill. It was a lunchtime hill run. But with calls of up to twelve inches of snow overnight, I decided on an evening run anticipating there would be none tomorrow. With my headlamp wrapped around my hat and gloves on my fingers, I ran down into Wissahickon Valley.

I’m drawn to night runs. Probably for the same reasons others are too: solitude, beauty, and the challenge of dancing on dark trails. Tonight, the temperatures remain frigid. Puffs of air and small flecks of fallen snow glitter in my headlamp while I run. I try to steady my breath and correct my posture. I slip on exposed ice and fumble at branches for support. There is no falling tonight.

Evening run, blinding headlamp, Wissahickon, 2/12/2014

Evening run, blinding headlamp, Wissahickon, 2/12/2014

Evening run, winter branches, Wissahickon, 2/12/2014

Evening run, winter branches, Wissahickon, 2/12/2014

5 thoughts on “Notebook: Cold, Dark Trails (2/12/2014)

  1. I also enjoy the thrill of the night run and have recently been lamenting the lack of need of my headlamp during my after work trail run. There is something very pure about only seeing your immediate surroundings. No hills to anticipate; no curves to prepare for. Just stay in this moment!
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

